Palms

13681060_1710414185845861_7349189617666898405_n

 

PALMS

here are my bare feet

in the midst of the muddy forest ground

i have lingered yet still longing the way

there is so much i have lost in understanding

lands and fields and ghosts of languages i have not yet learned

but the gods, they gave me scrolls

on my skin

and there the compass lies and rests

in the crevice of my heartline

like thousands of grains in the sea

a throng of truth

and endless pages

through the hammock in my lifelines

my skin unravels and peels

while the stars and planets begin to waltz

for we cannot alter age and growth

but we will always have maps,

here for various times, and various paths

Leave a Reply

