What to Read: On my bookshelf

The past few years have been incredible in finding new and interesting books to read. When your not in school, or have any free time to yourself focusing on reading about things your interested in is the best thing you can do! One of my favorite authors, Jeanne Birdsall, the writer of The Penderwicks series says the best advice she can give to writers, is to ‘READ, READ, READ‘. I’m down with that, for that’s where you get a lot of ideas for writing is from reading, too right?

IMG_0904

Here’s my list of book titles from last year’s list that I read:

Little Women, by Louisa May Alcott

The Dark Frigate, by Charles Boardman Hawes

The Making of the Wizard of Oz, by Aljean Harmetz

Withering Heights, by Emily Bronte

Peter Pan, by J.M. Berrie

The Notebooks of Leonardo De Vinci

The Phantom of The Opera, by Gaston Leroux

The Story of The Treasure Seekers, by E. Nesbit

The Enchanted Castle, by E. Nesbit

The Coming of the Fairies, by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

The Jungle Book, by Rudyard Kipling

A Study in Scarlet, by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Bambi, by Felix Stalten

The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, by Mark Twain

The Garden Party & other stories, by Kathrine Mansfield

IMG_1946 IMG_2574 IMG_2575 IMG_2576

I tend to stock up on some titles that I find interesting and then eventually get around to reading them all by the end of the year.IMG_2605I read quite a lot of children lit last year due to my research on writing my young adult fantasy novel, which I am hoping to get published, and right now I’m in the middle of reading this study book ‘The Myth of the Goddess‘ which is mind-blowing! And also in the middle of finishing the first Virginia Woolf novel I’ve ever read which is ‘To the Lighthouse‘, god could her writing get any more beautiful?!!

Leave a Reply

